Ron Greene's Blog

Photography and More

The Challenges of Street Photography

with 6 comments

I’ve always enjoyed street photography, although I’m often concerned about intruding on people. It seems to me that the best street photographers are assertive types, relatively untroubled about the feelings of their subjects. They may also be better talkers and faster of foot. Here are some examples of how I’ve managed to get around my limitations.

Here I used a telephoto lens, often helpful when it would be difficult to move closer.

Sometimes you can be fairly certain the person you’re photographing doesn’t see you.

I assume dogs with pink shoes love having their pictures taken.

I also assume men holding pink dogs don’t mind having their pictures taken.

Tethered dogs can be easy subjects, although eye contact might break your heart.

Written by Ron Greene

December 30, 2011 at 9:26 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have a bit of an internal debate on it myself. I usually want the subject exactly as I see them, before they react to being aware of being photographed. (because I dont think of my taking pictures as art really, I’m just trying to keep what I see.) But at the same time, I’d hate to think I was photographing someone who decidedly didn’t want to be photographed.
    Now that I think about it though, I really have the same uneasiness whether I’m taking pictures in public, or sneaking around taking pictures of my friends while everyone else is too busy having fun to notice. I live with the uneasiness by striving to not take cruel pictures I guess?

    Have you ever missed a shot you wish you had because you hesitated, considering the subject’s feelings?

    rika9

    December 30, 2011 at 6:43 pm

    • Yes, I miss many opportunities for good photos when I over-think the situation. Sometimes it’s easier to do this kind of photography in tourist areas where there are lots of people with cameras. Then you can blend in as just another vacationer snapping away like crazy. The guy holding the pink dog is an example.

      Ron Greene

      December 31, 2011 at 9:43 am

  2. Some great photos, thanks for sharing.

    Rory Alexander

    December 30, 2011 at 9:50 pm

    • Thanks for taking the time to look at my new Blogging experiment. Enjoy your world travels.

      Ron Greene

      December 31, 2011 at 9:40 am

      • Your pictures brought back a memory me of taking a photo of a vagrant on a park bench. I didn’t want to get too close so I used a telephoto lens. The subject was still too small so I montaged his image with a picture of a circle with radiating lines which I placed over the subject. I enjoyed seeing your photos.
        Your sister, Sally via Debbi’s email

        Debbi

        January 3, 2012 at 3:33 pm

  3. The last shot is great! The pink dog scares me though 🙂

    darkhalide

    January 5, 2012 at 4:11 pm


Leave a Reply

