Ron Greene's Blog

Photography and More

Redwood Sidelines

with 2 comments

Friday, January 20, 2012 | If the San Francisco Niners don’t beat the Giants this Sunday and win a ticket to the Super Bowl, this will be the last weekend I’ll be thinking about football until next season. That said, here’s another batch of photos from this year’s Redwood High School football games. (Larkspur, California)

While I enjoyed the action on the field, the sidelines were equally interesting. What I liked was that it reminded me of street photography, but with prior permission! Everyone at the games knows there are photographers around and that there’s a chance of being photographed. There’s no problem pointing a camera at someone, no issues around violating the social contract.

The team didn’t do well this year, as you can guess from the expressions on many faces near the end of the season. I’m already looking forward to next year when I hope they have better luck. If they control the ball more there will be more photos of the team on offense. All the photos from the season are on the VarsityPix web site. If you happen to be interested in photographing high school sports and live in California, you might want to visit the VarsityPix site and contact Bill Schneider. He’s the friendly CEO who will get you started.

Young fan with sunglasses

Cheerleader pledge

Jumping cheerleaders

Three coaches

Written by Ron Greene

January 20, 2012 at 10:57 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Ron

    It`s funny to look at these pictures from Redwood High 🙂 reminds me of my time there 🙂 and they all look so young! Now I’m starting to realize that I’m getting older — not that it bothers me, but it`s still funny to become aware of the time that’s passing by. Even though, things look quite the same Redwood as they used to when I lived with you as an exchange student.
    Here in Switzerland the weather is awful, rainy and cold. Thomas and I are still waiting for our little girl. I guess she waits till the weather gets better 🙂

    Big hug to you.

    Anonymous

    January 21, 2012 at 12:30 am

  2. If the faces look young to you, you can imagine how young they look to me! Time has a way of moving right along, regardless of what we might want. I do hope Time will be kind and allow me at least one last trip to Europe so I can meet Thomas and your little girl. On the other hand, the “student exchange room” is still empty, and you’re always welcome in California.

    Ron Greene

    January 21, 2012 at 9:24 am


Leave a Reply

