Ron Greene's Blog

Photography and More

Redwood vs. Justin Siena Track and Field

with 2 comments

Redwood High School Track and Field

Last Thursday I decided to try my hand at Track and Field photography, so I headed over to the Redwood vs. Justin-Siena meet. The Redwood boys and girls won, although it was hard to tell without reading the Marin Independent Journal the next morning. I had to hunt for the scores at the bottom of the sports page, meaning, I guess, that Track and Field is low on the high school sports hierarchy. I’m not sure why. After I figured out what was going on, I found the experience enjoyable. What was new me was seeing boys and girls out there on the same field. That’s a welcome change from my day.

Girls Redwood High School Track and Field

Maybe high school Track and Field isn’t a popular spectator sport because individual events are scattered all over the field. Some, like discuss and shot put, were almost impossible for fans to see from the Redwood stands. I really don’t follow big-time track events, but maybe the action is made available to fans on big screens like you see at football games.

Long jump at Redwood Highschool Track and Field

Boys Race at Redwood Track and Field

It took me awhile to get my bearings, but I did manage to get a few shots I like. Getting things into sharp focus is always an issue for me, the same problem I had at the Redwood football games last year. Actually, I found track a little easier because I knew where the athletes were headed. With football, you never know where the play will end up.

Redwood High School Pole Vault

You can see more of my sports photography at VarsityPix.com.

 

Written by Ron Greene

March 3, 2012 at 11:47 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “Redwood vs. Justin Siena Track and Field | Ron Greene’s Blog” was indeed truly compelling and informative! In modern universe honestly, that is tough to deliver. Many thanks, Kit

    Buford

    August 2, 2013 at 5:34 pm

  2. “Redwood vs. Justin Siena Track and Field
    | Ron Greene’s Blog” was a very good blog post and I actually was in fact pretty content to come across the article. Thank you-Latisha

    Brock

    August 3, 2013 at 7:35 am


Leave a Reply

