Ron Greene's Blog

Photography and More

Robert Redford Vintage Photos in Esquire Magazine

with 4 comments

Marin County | California

By far the most-viewed photos on my blog are several I took of Robert Redford many years ago. Recently the photo editor at Esquire magazine contacted me, and asked if my vintage efforts could be used in an April 2013 article about Mr. Redford. I agreed to sent her six contact sheets. She picked what you see below, and rather than asking me to scan the negatives, she scanned the contacts.

I’ve also heard from Esquire’s International Editions department, and have agreed to have the same photos published in Spain, Korea, and China.

If I were a young photographer just starting a career, I suppose I would be excited out of my mind, but at this late stage in my retirement from a career as a clinical psychologist, I find these developments prompting no more than an interesting story to share with friends.

Time and circumstance sure have a way changing one’s perspective on events.

Robert Redford smoking

Robert Redford contact sheet

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Still wow!

    Sent from my iPad

    Judith Pruess-Mellow

    April 11, 2013 at 8:11 pm

  2. Hey Ron, I looked at the article on Esquire on line (a bit too long to read completely right now), and you were quoted in the caption of your Redford photo:

    “Redford in 1959, when he was a student at the American Academy of Dramatic Arts in New York. Taken by photographer Ron Greene’s studio in Hell’s Kitchen. “I had never heard of him,” says Greene. ”

    Very nice!! I didn’t see the contact sheet in the article. Did I miss it?

    Yes, circumstances do change, but this is a real coup. Congrats!! Mort

    Morton Stein

    April 12, 2013 at 8:42 am

    • The contact sheet is definitely in the original paper magazine. It might have been left out of the electronic version. Thanks for pointing this out.

      Ron Greene

      April 13, 2013 at 5:48 pm


Leave a Reply

