Ron Greene's Blog

Photography and More

Downtown San Rafael

with 5 comments

Marin County | California

For the last few weeks, I’ve been taking photos for the Downtown San Rafael Business Improvement District. Initially, I had reservations about the project because I believe some business owners are blaming downtown homeless people for unrelated business issues. It wouldn’t be the first time a voiceless minority is being scapegoated.

In any case, I’ve decided to give it a try, and so far it’s been all positive. I’ve met some interesting people, and discovered parts of a vibrant downtown I’d never experienced before.

I’ve just scratched the surface, but I thought I’d preview some of the photos. Kids are a bit overrepresented in this series, but I couldn’t resist. So cute.

Let me know what you think.

The first four photos are from last Friday’s Art Walk.

SR Business-1-2

 

SR Business-1

 

SR Business-1-3

 

SR Business-1-4

Youth in Arts provides frequent programs for youngsters.

SR Business m-1-3

 

SR Business m-1-5

 

SR Business m-1-4

 The Marelli Brothers have been hand-crafting shoe repairs since 1921.

SR Business m-1

 

SR Business m-1-2

 

Downtown San Rafael Business District

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. thanks. . . love the “hang on to what you value” shot you posted on Facebook.Susan Date: Mon, 11 Aug 2014 18:01:36 +0000 To: susankirsch@hotmail.com

    Susan Kirsch

    August 11, 2014 at 11:07 am

  2. Thanks so much. Terrific!

    Sent from my iPad

    Judith Pruess-Mellow

    August 11, 2014 at 3:48 pm

  3. I like ’em. Especially the shoe shop.

    Mort

    August 11, 2014 at 4:05 pm

  4. Love them!

    Anonymous

    August 13, 2014 at 12:23 pm

  5. You’ve found something positive about San Raphael. The shoe repair men are such an unlikely find! Children are always a positive. An unlikely blog post given your curmudgeon nature. High school sports will be starting soon. Another positive to look forward fo!

    Jane Beecher

    August 15, 2014 at 10:20 am


Leave a Reply

