Ron Greene's Blog

Photography and More

Marin Catholic Rolls Over Redwood

with 6 comments

Marin County | California

Marin Catholic football shutout Redwood last Saturday 63-0. The Wildcats face a weak Terra Linda tomorrow and are sure to share this year’s MCAL title. The postseason starts in two weeks.

As the season winds down, I have to admit that my photos are looking more and more alike to me. I keep hoping for something special and unique, but it hasn’t happened yet. I keep trying, and that hope brings me back to the games every week. I’d like to take a photograph that people look at for more than a second or two. It’s a little discouraging because digital photographers are producing and publishing so many good pictures these days that it’s hard for people to find the time to savor any single image.

Inky Beecher sent me a Guardian article this morning about Robert Frank. He turns 90 this Sunday and is considered one of America’s iconic photographers. A quote from Robert Frank struck me as a sentiment I hope I can put off as long as possible. “There’s no point in it anymore for me, and I get no satisfaction from trying to do it. There are too many pictures now. It’s overwhelming. A flood of images that passes by, and says, ‘why should we remember anything?’ There is too much to remember now, too much to take in.”

What do you think? When was the last time you spend more than a moment on any photo?

Here are some of the game images. You’ll find more at http:/www.VarsityPix.com.

Greene_MC v Redwood Football (1 of 25)

Greene_MC v Redwood Football (2 of 25)

Greene_MC v Redwood Football (3 of 25)

Greene_MC v Redwood Football (4 of 25)

Greene_MC v Redwood Football (5 of 25)

Greene_MC v Redwood Football (6 of 25)

Greene_MC v Redwood Football (7 of 25)

Greene_MC v Redwood Football (8 of 25)

Greene_MC v Redwood Football (9 of 25)

Greene_MC v Redwood Football (10 of 25)

Greene_MC v Redwood Football (11 of 25)

Greene_MC v Redwood Football (12 of 25)

Greene_MC v Redwood Football (13 of 25)

Greene_MC v Redwood Football (14 of 25)

Greene_MC v Redwood Football (15 of 25)

Greene_MC v Redwood Football (16 of 25)

Greene_MC v Redwood Football (17 of 25)

Greene_MC v Redwood Football (18 of 25)

Greene_MC v Redwood Football (19 of 25)

Greene_MC v Redwood Football (20 of 25)

Greene_MC v Redwood Football (21 of 25)

Greene_MC v Redwood Football (22 of 25)

Greene_MC v Redwood Football (23 of 25)

Greene_MC v Redwood Football (24 of 25)

Greene_MC v Redwood Football (25 of 25)

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You have three or four keepers here. I have to click on #1, it downloads, I delete it, I go back to the email, and click on the next photo. Too slow. More than two seconds. When I want to look back at a specific photo I have to remember its number, which I never do. Is there a better way? The synchronized dance of the pass catcher and field referee references the famous early 20th C photo of the guy leaping over a puddle. I like the cheerleaders leading the team out on the field.

    Eugene Beecher

    November 7, 2014 at 1:14 pm

    • I same emailed images to my desktop by dragging them there. This works for me on a Mac. There might be other ways of saving images.

      Ron Greene

      November 7, 2014 at 1:55 pm

  2. Need more “ball in the air” shots also maybe one or two more cheerleader shots as well.

    Anonymous

    November 7, 2014 at 1:49 pm

  3. What? I love seeing your photography of these players and I’m not even a parent there! Can’t imagine the high school students not enjoying and appreciating your professional/great pictures. Please keep doing this wonderful community service. Thank you. H. Kennedy

    Helga Kennedy

    November 9, 2014 at 5:17 pm


Leave a Reply

