Ron Greene's Blog

Photography and More

The San Francisco Zoo

with 8 comments

Rica and I visited the San Francisco Zoo Tuesday, and I thought this was a good place to try my new Olympus 40-150mm telephoto lens with a 1.4 teleconverter. This combination provides a maximum focal length equivalent of 420mm, a good reach for sports photography. The Marin Catholic High School football season begins soon, and my thinking is that if this combination can reasonably compete with my usual Nikon D4 setup, I’ll have much less weight to lug around of the sidelines.

The results seem promising as you can judge from these photos. My only concern now is whether my little camera’s continuous focus can satisfactorily track football action. From what I’ve read, this Olympus combination won’t come close to my Nikon D4’s performance, but we’ll soon find out. Marin Catholic opens its season against Cosumnes Oaks on August 29th.


Greene_zoo animal g over sholder-

Greene_zoo animal g-

Greene_zoo animal s-

Greene_zoo animal trump-

Greene_zoo animal--2

Greene_zoo animal--3

Greene_zoo animal--4

Greene_zoo animal--5

Greene_zoo animal--6

Greene_zoo animal--7

Greene_zoo animal--8

Greene_zoo animal--9

Greene_zoo animal-

Greene_zoo animal g broc-

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Incredible shots! Lee Ann

    Music22

    August 6, 2015 at 10:36 am

  2. nice pics! good color, great moments, amazing creatures .the anteater on the prowl, the dukier or is that a dik dik, in a moment of contemplation, the lion maintaining the hunting equipment… you can take the animal out of the wild but you cannot take the wild out of the animal, not in a couple generations anyway.

    leif

    August 6, 2015 at 10:58 am

  3. Wonderful photos. You went on quite a safari!

    Anonymous

    August 6, 2015 at 11:30 am

  4. I liked it. Did Rica take photos? Inky

    Eugene Beecher

    August 6, 2015 at 11:54 am

  5. Great job!

    Judith Pruess-mellow

    August 6, 2015 at 12:21 pm

  6. Very nice collection! Mort

    >

    Mort Stein

    August 6, 2015 at 5:08 pm

  7. Excellent shots!

    Jai Sinha

    August 7, 2015 at 6:13 am


Leave a comment